About Tourism

Tourism is everywhere. And whether you’re looking for short-term income, a flexible job opportunity or a rewarding career, you’ll find an opportunity that’s right for you in tourism - one of Canada’s fastest growing industries!


While tourism has always been a hospitable gateway to the world of work, the industry also offers lifelong career opportunities in challenging, interesting, fast-paced occupations that require employees with a wide variety of skills and capabilities.

Did you know that there are 1.66 million people employed in tourism-related occupations in Canada? That number is projected to hit 1.95 million by 2015.

The tourism industry has an advantage over other industries because its selection of occupations numbers well over 400. Tourism jobs also tend to offer plenty of opportunities for advancement, widely transferable skills and ongoing training. And of course, the industry is known as an exciting, flexible and friendly place to find a job or build a career.

Tourism encompasses two areas: outbound tourism and inbound tourism.

Outbound tourism is what you may be most familiar with. It involves the business generated by people going from where you live to other provinces, territories or countries. Going to Hawaii in February is an example of outbound tourism.

Canada competes in a global market to attract tourists from the United States, Japan, Germany and a host of other countries. We ask them to come and visit Canada — that is inbound tourism. The tourists that come to your area from other provinces and territories are considered inbound tourists as well.

There are five sectors of the tourism industry, including Accommodation, Food and Beverage Services, TransportationRecreation and Entertainment and Travel Services.

Discover the tourism sector that’s right for you!

À propos du tourisme

Quel est votre objectif? Un revenu à court terme, un horaire flexible, une carrière enrichissante? Vous trouverez certainement le poste qu’il vous faut dans le domaine du tourisme, l’une des industries les plus florissantes au Canada!

Même si elle a toujours proposé de nombreux postes de premier échelon, l’industrie du tourisme vous offre aussi la possibilité de mener une carrière stimulante dans un milieu dynamique, et de mettre à profit vos multiples compétences.

Saviez-vous que 1,67 million de Canadiens occupent un poste relié au tourisme? On prévoit que ce nombre atteindra 1,95 million d’ici 2010.

Par rapport à d’autres industries, le secteur du tourisme a l’avantage de proposer plus de 400 postes différents. On y trouve aussi de nombreuses possibilités d’avancement, de formation continue et de transfert des compétences. Enfin, le secteur du tourisme est connu pour ses emplois intéressants, ses horaires flexibles et son climat de travail convivial.

Il existe deux types de tourisme : le tourisme émetteur et le tourisme récepteur.

Le tourisme émetteur est probablement celui que vous connaissez le mieux. Il s’agit de l’activité des gens qui partent de chez eux pour visiter d’autres provinces, territoires ou pays. Se rendre à Hawaï en février est un exemple de tourisme émetteur.

Le tourisme récepteur, de son côté, consiste à accueillir des visiteurs, par exemple en provenance des États-Unis, du Japon ou de l’Allemagne. L’accueil des visiteurs provenant d’autres provinces ou territoires fait aussi partie du tourisme récepteur.

Le secteur du tourisme est composé des cinq sous-secteurs suivants : services d’hébergement, services de restauration, transportloisirs et spectacles et services de voyages.

Explorez le sous-secteur du tourisme qui vous intéresse!