Industry Information

What is the tourism sector?

In Canada, tourism is referred to as a “sector” and is divided into five different groups, called “industry groups”. These are Accommodation, Food and Beverage Services, Recreation and Entertainment, Transportation, and Travel Services.

There are tourism jobs in every province and territory in Canada, and in every tourism industry group.

Employers in the tourism sector come in all sizes: very small, small, mid-sized, and large. A very small business has between one and four employees, while a small business has between five and 20. A mid-sized business has between 20 and 99 employees, while a large business has more than 100.

Most employers in the tourism sector are small businesses (79%). The remaining employers (close to 19%) are mid-sized; this is a larger proportion compared to Canadian businesses overall.

Industry Groups

Each industry group has many types of jobs and employers. To discover the tourism industry group that’s best for you, try this interactive tourism quiz.

Almost half of the employees in the tourism sector work in Food and Beverages Services. Below is a breakdown of the percentage of tourism workers employed in each industry group.

Industry Groups Pie Chart


Employers in this group include hotels, motels, resorts, campgrounds, and recreational vehicle facilities. They range in size from bed and breakfast operations with one or two bedrooms to multi-national hotel chains with hundreds of rooms. The Accommodation industry group has a greater proportion of large businesses, such as hotels, motels and resorts.

Learn more about opportunities in the Accommodation industry.

Food and Beverage Services

This is the largest employment group. It includes restaurants, dining rooms, cafeterias, fast food outlets, hotels, private clubs, resorts, lounges, bars and nightclubs, convention centres, and cruise ships. They range in size from small private restaurants preparing individual meals up to large corporate facilities that prepare banquets for hundreds of people. In 2006, 76% of employers in the Food and Beverage Services industry group were small businesses.

Learn more about opportunities in the Food and Beverage Services industry.

Recreation and Entertainment

This is the second largest group and is very diverse. Employers can be zoos, museums, theatres, sports facilities, amusement parks, government parks, heritage sites, hunting, fishing or outdoor adventure outfitters, and casinos. Recreation and entertainment can also overlap with other sectors of tourism, and recreation and entertainment workers may be employed by hotels, resorts, tour companies, convention centres, or transportation companies.

The majority of employers in the Recreation and Entertainment industry group are small businesses; in the last few years, very small businesses have decreased while mid-sized and large businesses have increased.

Learn more about opportunities in the Recreation and Entertainment industry.


Employers in this group include companies that provide transport by air, land or water, and include airlines, bus companies, taxi companies, ferry services, and cruise ships. Employers could be a small airline with only two airplanes, or could be the size of a large bus company with thousands of vehicles operating across the country.

In the Transportation group, 84% of employers are small businesses, compared to just 4% of large businesses, such as major airlines, rail transportation, and car rental companies.

Learn more about opportunities in the Transportation industry.

Travel Services

Employers in this group include retail travel agencies, wholesale tour companies and corporate offices that have enough business travel to warrant their own booking divisions. Agencies might be small family operations with one office or large international networks with offices across the country.

An average of 92% of employers in Travel Services are small businesses.

Learn more about opportunities in the Travel Services industry. 

Growing Job Opportunities

Overall, there will be more than 300,000 new tourism jobs created across the country by 2015, with the most growth expected in the Food and Beverage Services and Recreation and Entertainment industry groups. The chart below shows which the number of new jobs projected for each industry.

Job Projections for 2015 Pie Chart

As you can see, there is a bright future in tourism in Canada – and for you!

For more information about employment trends in the tourism sector in Canada, visit the Tourism HR Canada Labour Market Information research section.

Renseignements sur l’industrie

Le tourisme au Canada est désigné sous le terme de « secteur »; ce secteur est divisé en cinq « sous-secteurs » :  hébergement, restauration, loisirs et divertissements, transport, et services de voyages.

Chaque province et chaque territoire au Canada offre des emplois en tourisme, et ce, dans chacun des sous-secteurs du tourisme.

On retrouve dans le secteur du tourisme des employeurs de toutes tailles : de très petites, petites, moyennes et grandes entreprises.

Une très petite entreprise compte de un à quatre employés, alors qu’une petite entreprise en compte de cinq à vingt. Une moyenne entreprise emploie de 20 à 99 travailleurs, et une grande entreprise, plus de 100.

La plupart des employeurs (79 %) du secteur du tourisme sont de petites entreprises. Le reste (près de 19 %) est composé de moyennes entreprises; cette proportion de moyennes entreprises est plus importante dans le secteur du tourisme que pour l’ensemble des secteurs économiques canadiens.

Les cinq sous-secteurs

Chaque sous-secteur comportent de nombreux types de fonctions de travail et d’employeurs. Afin de découvrir quel sous-secteur du tourisme vous convient le mieux, nous vous invitons à répondre à un jeu-questionnaire interactif sur le tourisme.

Le plus fort pourcentage d’employés correspondent au sous-secteur de la restauration. Le tableau ci-dessous montre le pourcentage de travailleurs employés dans chaque sous-secteur.

Hébergement

Parmi les employeurs de ce sous-secteur, on retrouve les hôtels, motels, centres de villégiature, campings et parcs de véhicules de camping. Ils varient en taille, du gîte touristique comptant une ou deux chambres à la chaîne hôtelière internationale offrant des centaines de chambres.

Le sous-secteur de l’hébergement présente une proportion plus importante de grandes entreprises, telles que des hôtels, des motels et des centres de villégiature.

Pour en apprendre davantage... 

Restauration

Il s’agit du plus grand sous-secteur du tourisme. Les employeurs en restauration comprennent les restaurants, salles à manger, cafétérias, services de restauration rapide, hôtels, clubs privés, centres de villégiature, bars-salons, bars et boîtes de nuit, centres de congrès et paquebots de croisière. Ces entreprises varient en taille, allant des petits restaurants privés préparant des repas individuels aux grandes entreprises organisant des banquets pour des centaines de convives.

En 2006, 76 % des employeurs du sous-secteur de la restauration étaient de petites entreprises.

Pour en apprendre davantage... 

Loisirs et divertissements

Très diversifié, ce sous-secteur est le deuxième en importance. Parmi les employeurs, on y retrouve les zoos, musées, cinémas, installations sportives, parcs d’attractions, parcs nationaux, lieux historiques, pourvoiries de chasse, de pêche ou de plein air, et casinos. Le sous-secteur des loisirs et divertissements peut également recouper d’autres sous-secteurs du tourisme. Par exemple, des employés de ce sous-secteur pourraient travailler dans des hôtels, des centres de villégiature, des entreprises d'excursion, des centres de congrès ou des compagnies de transport.

La majorité des employeurs du sous-secteur des loisirs et divertissements sont de petites entreprises; au cours des dernières années, le nombre des très petites entreprises a diminué, alors que celui des moyennes et grandes entreprises a connu une hausse.

Pour en apprendre davantage... 

Transport

Les employeurs de ce sous-secteur sont des entreprises offrant des services de transport aérien, terrestre ou maritime, notamment des compagnies aériennes, des compagnies d’autocars ou de taxis, des services de traversiers et des paquebots de croisière. Ils peuvent être de petite taille, par exemple une petite compagnie aérienne ne comptant que deux avions, ou encore de grande taille, comme une compagnie d’autocars exploitant un parc de milliers de véhicules au pays.

Le sous-secteur du transport est constitué à 84 % de petites entreprises, alors qu’on y compte seulement 4 % de grandes entreprises, notamment les grandes compagnies aériennes, ferroviaires et de location de véhicules.

Pour en apprendre davantage... 

Services de voyages

Les employeurs de ce sous-secteur comprennent les agences de voyages, les voyagistes en gros, ainsi que les bureaux d’entreprises dont le personnel effectue suffisamment de déplacements pour justifier un service de réservation à l’interne. Les agences peuvent être de petites entreprises familiales ne comptant qu'une succursale, ou de vastes réseaux internationaux ayant des bureaux partout au pays.

Environ 92 % des employeurs du sous-secteur des services de voyages sont de petites entreprises.

Pour en apprendre davantage... 

Croissance de possibilités d'emploi

D’ici 2015, plus de 300 000 nouveaux emplois seront créés au pays dans l’ensemble du secteur du tourisme. Les sous-secteurs de la restauration et des loisirs et divertissements devraient connaître la plus forte croissance. Le tableau ci-dessous montre le nombre d'emplois qui pourraient être créés par chaque sous-secteur.

Graphique circulaire des perspectives d’emploi d’ici 2015

Comme vous pouvez le constater, l’avenir du tourisme au Canada est très prometteur – et le vôtre aussi!  

Si vous désirez obtenir plus de renseignements sur le marché du travail dans le secteur du tourisme au Canada, visitez la section Information sur le marché du travail du site Web du RH Tourisme Canada.