Recreation & Entertainment

Experience the adventure of a lifetime - again and again!

Consider a career in Recreation and Entertainment. This industry is projected to be the fastest growing tourism industry by 2015 and offers some of the most unique work and career opportunities. From working on a ski hill to event coordination, this industry has lots to offer!

Outdoor Adventure and Ecotourism

Many travelers seek adventure, challenge and excitement in the fabulous outdoor settings that Canada has to offer. Hiking, cycling, mountaineering, canoeing, kayaking, sailing, horseback riding, river rafting, scuba diving, sky diving, snowmobiling, and nature and wildlife viewing are just some of the activities included in this industry of the tourism sector.

People who work in this industry combine special expertise with their love and knowledge of the outdoors. As with all front line tourism occupations, employees must enjoy working with people and be skilled at understanding and meeting individual needs. In addition, employees must respect the environment and help others to respect it as well, to preserve and protect the ecology for the future.

Ski Resorts

Winter may come but once a year, yet you can be part of it year round! Canada’s more than 300 alpine ski areas attract millions of domestic and foreign tourists annually and there are hundreds of ski clubs serving this industry. It employs people who sell clothing and ski equipment, maintain and repair facilities and equipment, operate equipment and teach people to ski.

Golf and Tennis Facilities

Large numbers of Canadians and foreign visitors love Canada’s many golf and tennis facilities. As with ski resorts, this industry needs employees to sell clothing and sports equipment, maintain and repair facilities and equipment, and train players.

Parks and Attractions

In addition to Canada’s 38 national parks and 792 national historical sites, all provinces and territories have regional parks. Most urban and rural municipalities also have parks and habitat protection areas. Attractions can include historic sites, heritage homes, museums, halls of fame, art galleries, botanical gardens, aquariums, zoos, water and amusement parks, casinos and cultural attractions. Some attractions are educational; others are solely for entertainment – but all of them can give you the ability to embark on a great adventure…a job or career in tourism!

Employees in this industry work full and part time in a variety of positions in planning, marketing, selling, maintaining, promoting, patrolling, interpreting and training.

Marine Facilities

Across Canada, Canadians and foreign visitors alike enjoy water and water-based activities, such as fishing, swimming, sailing, windsurfing, water-skiing, canoeing, and sea-dooing. Related businesses include marinas, tour boat excursion or rental operators, sport-fishing lodges, and fly-in fishing camps. On both the east and west coasts, there are marine businesses offering exciting activities such as whale-watching, kayaking and deep-sea fishing. This sector requires employees as guides, instructors, business operators and more.

Loisirs et spectacles

Partez à l’aventure pour toute la vie!

Envisagez une carrière dans les loisirs et spectacles. On prévoit que ce sous-secteur du tourisme, qui offre certaines des possibilités de travail et de carrières les plus singulières, sera celui qui connaîtra la croissance la plus forte à compter de 2015. Qu’il s’agisse de travailler sur une pente de ski ou à la coordination d’un événement, les loisirs et spectacles ont beaucoup à offrir.

Aventure en plein air et écotourisme

Plusieurs voyageurs recherchent l’aventure, les défis et l’exaltation qu’offrent les fabuleux lieux en plein air du Canada. Randonnée pédestre, vélo, alpinisme, canoë, kayak, voile, équitation, descente en eau vive, plongée autonome, motoneige, observation de la nature et de la faune, voilà quelques-unes des activités qu’offre ce sous-secteur du tourisme.

Les personnes qui travaillent dans ce sous-secteur combinent une expertise particulière à leur amour et à leur connaissance des activités de plein air. Comme c’est le cas de tous les postes en tourisme de première ligne, les employés doivent aimer travailler avec les gens et avoir les aptitudes pour comprendre les besoins individuels et y répondre. De plus, ils doivent respecter l’environnement et aider les autres à faire de même pour protéger et préserver l’écologie de l’avenir.

Stations de ski

L’hiver peut bien se pointer une seule fois par année, il est possible de le garder avec soi toute l’année. Au Canada, plus de 300 stations de ski alpin attirent annuellement des millions de touristes du pays et étrangers et des centaines de clubs de ski desservent cette industrie. Celle-ci emploie des personnes qui vendent des vêtements et des articles de ski, entretiennent et réparent les installations et le matériel, font fonctionner le matériel et enseignent le ski.

Installations de golf et de tennis

Très nombreux sont les Canadiens et les étrangers qui aiment les installations de golf et de tennis du Canada. Comme c’est le cas pour les stations de ski, cette industrie compte sur ses employés pour vendre des vêtements et des articles de sport, entretenir et réparer les installations et le matériel ainsi que former les joueurs.

Parcs et attractions

En plus des 38 parcs nationaux et des 792 sites historiques nationaux du Canada, toutes les provinces et tous les territoires ont leurs parcs. La plupart des municipalités urbaines et rurales ont aussi des parcs et des aires de protection des habitats. Les attractions peuvent comprendre les sites historiques, les maisons historiques classées, les musées, les temples de la renommée, les galeries d’art, les jardins botaniques, les aquariums, les zoos, les parcs d’attractions nautiques et d’amusement, les casinos et les attractions culturelles. Certaines attractions sont éducatives. D’autres ne servent qu’au divertissement. Toutes cependant peuvent permettre de partir pour la grande aventure… un emploi ou une carrière en tourisme.

Les employés de cette industrie travaillent à temps plein et à temps partiel et occupent une diversité de postes dans la planification, le marketing, la vente, l’entretien, la promotion, la patrouille, l’interprétation et la formation.

Installations nautiques et maritimes

Partout au Canada, les Canadiens et les étrangers aiment l’eau et les activités nautiques, comme la pêche, la natation, la voile, la planche à voile, le ski nautique, le canoë et la motomarine. Les entreprises associées à ces activités sont les marinas, les organisateurs d’excursions en bateau de croisière ou de location de bateaux de croisière, les pavillons de pêche sportive et les camps de safaris de pêche. Tant sur la côte est que sur la côte ouest, des entreprises offrent des activités stimulantes, comme l’observation des baleines, le kayak et la pêche en profondeur. Les employés de ce secteur sont des guides, des instructeurs‑instructrices, des exploitants d’entreprise et autres.