Transportation

Transportation is an essential part of the tourism industry and the sector is a significant employer.

Over a quarter of a million Canadians work in the four modes of the transportation sector: road, air, rail and marine.

Road

The majority of Canadian and foreign tourists travel by road and considerable employment opportunities exist in the industries that support tourists and their cars. There are also other ground-transportation businesses, including motor coach travel, shuttle buses to and from airports and event sites, taxicab operations and vehicle rental companies – all of these require a range of employees from customer service to maintenance, management, sales and other personnel.

Air

After road, air is the main form of domestic and foreign travel. Air travel has been a growth area in Canada since the mid-1990s. Despite recent turmoil in individual companies, the prospects are increasingly positive for the future. Air transportation is a wonderful option for those who look for employment that offers travel benefits.

Rail

Rail travel, a relaxed, scenic way to travel, is becoming increasingly popular. It’s no longer just the transport mode to get to a vacation spot – it’s now part of the vacation experience itself. Via Rail, Canada's only national passenger rail service, carries approximately 3.8 million passengers annually and employs staff in a wide range of occupations. There are also smaller regional railways, which need employees to sell tickets, operate the trains, etc.

Marine

Many travelers opt for cruises for their vacation or use marine transportation to reach a vacation destination. Employees are needed in marine-based transportation businesses such as cruise lines, ferry companies, marinas and water taxis. Like air transportation, the marine transportation industry appeals to employees who enjoy traveling as part of their work.

Transport

Les transports sont une part essentielle du secteur du tourisme et un employeur important. Le nombre de Canadiens‑Canadiennes qui travaillent dans les quatre modes de transport — transport routier, transport aérien, transport ferroviaire et transport maritime, est de plus d’un quart de million.  

Transport routier

En majorité, les touristes canadiens et étrangers utilisent le transport routier. Un nombre considérable de possibilités d’emploi existent dans les secteurs qui soutiennent les touristes et leurs véhicules. Il existe aussi d’autres entreprises de transport terrestre, notamment dans les domaines des voyages en autocar, des services de navette pour les aéroports et les sites d’événements, des services de taxi et de la location de véhicules. Dans tous les cas, il faut une diversité d’employés qui travaillent du service à la clientèle à la maintenance, en passant par la gestion, les ventes et autres.  

Transport aérien

Après le transport routier, le transport aérien regroupe le plus grand nombre de voyages intérieurs et étrangers. Il est en croissance au Canada depuis le milieu des années 1990. Malgré l’agitation récente au sein des sociétés, les perspectives d’avenir sont de plus en plus positives. Le transport aérien est une merveilleuse option pour les personnes qui cherchent un emploi qui offre des avantages sous forme de voyages.  

Transport ferroviaire

Le transport ferroviaire, un moyen de voyager qui permet la détente tout en admirant des sites pittoresques, ne cesse de gagner en popularité. Il n’est plus seulement le mode de transport utilisé pour se rendre au lieu des vacances — il fait désormais partie de l’expérience même des vacances. Via Rail, le seul service ferroviaire national de transport de passagers du Canada, transporte quelque 3,8 millions de passagers annuellement et son personnel occupe une grande variété de postes. Il existe aussi de plus petites entreprises régionales qui ont besoin d’employés pour vendre les billets, conduire les trains et autres.  

Transport maritime

Plusieurs voyageurs optent pour prendre des vacances en croisière ou pour utiliser le transport maritime pour se rendre à la destination de leurs vacances. Les entreprises de transport maritime, comme les croisiéristes, les exploitants de traversiers, les marinas et les bateaux‑taxis, ont besoin d’employés. Comme c’est le cas pour le transport aérien, cette industrie attire les employés qui aiment voyager dans le cadre de leur travail.