Travel Services

In 2006, 47,900 Canadians were employed in the Travel Services industry.

Travel Services employees make individual or group reservations for accommodations, tours, transportation, food and beverage and/or for attractions if they are employed by an organization that is established to provide such services. Other employees in this industry work for organizations that plan special events such as conferences, major meetings, trade shows and conventions.

There are many different employment opportunities in the Travel Services Trade. Those who sell directly, such as Travel Counsellors, and those who provide guest services, such as Tourism Visitor Information Counsellors and Tour Guides. The direct selling occupations are categorized further into two groups: Retail Travel Agencies and Wholesale Tour Operators.

Retail Travel Agencies

Travel agencies employ travel agents who sell packages to individuals, groups or businesses; these packages may include airline tickets, car rentals, hotel reservations, meals, and entries to sites and attractions. In recent years, however, with the advent of electronic purchasing and the threat to small independent travel agencies, there are increasing numbers of larger consortiums and the like offering employment to travel agents.

Wholesale Tour Operators

Tour operators and wholesalers develop and package tours to sell to retail travel agencies for inbound travel to Canada or for outbound travel to other destinations. Often these are all-inclusive tours that include travel, accommodation, meals and entertainment, and focus on a niche like employee incentive travel, or convention-related or special-interest travel, such as theatre, sports or bird-watching tours. Wholesale tour operators may work independently or may be affiliated with an air or motor coach line or other travel-related business.

Services de voyages

En 2006, 47 900 Canadiens‑Canadiennes étaient employés dans le sous-secteur des services de voyages.  

Les employés des services de voyages prennent des réservations individuelles ou de groupes pour les exploitants d’entreprises des domaines de l’hébergement, des circuits touristiques, des transports, de la restauration et des attractions quand ils sont au service d’une organisation qui offre de tels services. D’autres employés de ce sous-secteur travaillent pour des organisations qui planifient des événements, comme des conférences, de grandes assemblées, des salons commerciaux et des congrès.

L’industrie touristique offre plusieurs possibilités d’emploi. Il y a ceux qui vendent directement, comme les conseillers‑conseillères en voyages, et ceux qui offrent des services aux clients, comme les préposés‑préposées à l’information touristique et les guides touristiques. Les postes qui s’occupent de la vente directe se divisent en deux groupes : les agences de voyage au détail et les voyagistes.  

Agences de voyages au détail

Les agences de voyages emploient des agents‑agentes de voyages qui vendent des forfaits aux personnes, aux groupes ou aux entreprises. Ces forfaits peuvent comprendre les billets d’avion, les locations d’automobiles, les réservations d’hôtel, les repas et les entrées aux sites et aux attractions. Ces dernières années, toutefois, avec l’avènement de l’achat électronique et la menace qui pèse sur les petites agences de voyages indépendantes, il y a un nombre croissant de consortiums et d’autres organisations de plus grande taille de ce genre qui offrent des emplois aux agents‑agentes de voyages.

Voyagistes

Les voyagistes conçoivent des forfaits de voyages et les vendent aux agences de voyages au détail pour les voyages d’entrée au Canada ou pour les voyages à l’étranger. Il s’agit souvent de forfaits tout compris qui comprennent le voyage, l’hébergement, les repas, les divertissements et qui se concentrent sur un créneau, comme les voyages-motivation pour les employés ou les voyages reliés à des congrès ou à des intérêts particuliers, comme le théâtre, les sports, l’ornithologie. Les voyagistes peuvent travailler de façon indépendante ou être affiliés à une ligne aérienne, à un autocariste ou à une autre entreprise en lien avec les voyages.