Finding Help to Settle In

Moving to a new country can be a stressful experience. Fortunately, there are many organizations in Canada that can help you get through the first few months, and help you adjust to your new life. The Government of Canada’s Welcome to Canada is a very useful guide to help you get started.

Immigrant serving organizations

Immigrant serving organizations can help you as soon as you arrive in Canada with everything from immediate settlement questions to long-term career planning and community integration. These organizations can help you find a place to live, a school for your children, a healthcare provider, and help connect you with other people from your home country.

They can help you find a job by giving you advice on how to prepare a professional résumé or how to look for a job in Canada, and by connecting you with bridging (transition) and mentoring programs that can help connect you with potential employers. They also give you advice on banking, shopping, managing a household and other everyday tasks. They can provide you with interpreters or translators and help you find other services that you may need. To locate an organization in your community, please see Key Immigrant Serving Organizations Across Canada.

Host Program

The Host Program helps new permanent residents, refugees and protected persons adapt to life in Canada by matching them with Canadian volunteers who help them carry out social, commercial, educational and employment activities. For more information on the Host Program in your city, visit Starting a New Life in Canada?

Services for temporary foreign workers

As a temporary foreign worker, you may not be eligible for many of the free services offered by immigrant serving organizations. This is because these agencies are mostly mandated or funded to assist newcomers who have permanent residency status in Canada. As such, it is important to know that these organizations could charge you a fee for some of their services.

You may like to contact the embassy or consulate from your home country to obtain information or assistance while living in Canada. To find the phone number of your home country’s embassy or consulate nearest you, visit the online directory of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada.

In addition, you may want to visit the public library in your community to obtain a free library card and learn more about the various programs and services offered. You can also become a member of the CTHRC Online Community (free of charge) for a list of organizations that offer language and support services specifically to temporary foreign workers; please note that this is not a complete listing.

Finally, you may wish to obtain information on money transfer providers to identify the most cost-effective way of sending money to your home country. A good start for information on money transfer services is the SendMoneyHome.org website.

Ethnocultural Organizations

If you are a temporary foreign worker or a landed immigrant in Canada, you may like to meet and connect with other newcomers and immigrants from your home country. The Canadian Ethnocultural Council (CEC) website provides contact information for national ethnocultural umbrella organizations that represent ethnocultural groups and organizations all across Canada.

Radio Canada International (RCI)

Recent and potential immigrants to Canada often have questions or problems about life in Canada. RCI Viva is a web service that deals with these issues. It includes a multi-language web radio service that covers such things as information to help immigrants discover their new home, tools to improve language skills, and discussion boards. To listen to this service over the Internet, visit Radio Canada International.

National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada

Staying in touch with home by meeting with other people from your country and keeping up to date with news can make your move to Canada a lot easier. The National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada website lists many of the community and ethnic newspapers available across the country.

Trouver de l’aide à l’établissement

Déménager dans un nouveau pays n’est pas une expérience de tout repos. Heureusement, il existe au Canada de nombreuses organisations qui peuvent vous fournir de l’assistance pendant les premiers mois et faciliter le processus d’adaptation à votre nouvelle vie. La publication Bienvenue au Canada du gouvernement du Canada constitue également un point de départ des plus utiles.

Organisations d’aide aux immigrants

Les organisations d’aide aux immigrants pourront vous offrir de l’assistance dès votre arrivée au Canada dans une foule de domaines, qu’il s’agisse de questions urgentes concernant votre établissement, de la planification d’une carrière à long terme ou de votre intégration à la société canadienne. Ces organismes peuvent vous aider à trouver un logement, une école pour vos enfants, un fournisseur de soins de santé, en plus de vous être utile pour entrer en contact avec d’autres personnes provenant de votre pays d’origine.

Les organisations d’aide aux immigrants peuvent aussi vous aider à trouver un emploi en vous prodiguant des conseils sur la façon de préparer un CV professionnel ou d'effectuer une recherche d'emploi au Canada, de même qu’en vous présentant des programmes de transition et de mentorat qui pourront vous être utile pour entrer en relation avec des employeurs potentiels. Sans compter qu’elles sont également aptes à vous donner des conseils pratiques sur de nombreux aspects de la vie quotidienne au Canada : services bancaires, emplettes, comment gérer un ménage, etc. Ces organismes sont en mesure de vous fournir des services d’interprètes ou de traducteurs, et peuvent vous prêter main-forte pour accéder à d’autres services dont vous pourriez avoir besoin. Pour trouver une organisation dans votre localité, veuillez consulter la liste des Principales organisations d'aide aux immigrants au Canada.

Programme d’accueil

Le Programme d’accueil aide les nouveaux résidents permanents, réfugiés et personnes protégées à s'adapter à leur nouvelle vie au Canada en les jumelant à des bénévoles canadiens qui leur prêtent assistance dans la réalisation de diverses activités sociales, commerciales, d’éducation et d’emploi. Pour vous renseigner au sujet du Programme d'accueil offert dans votre ville, visitez la page Commencer une nouvelle vie au Canada.

Services pour les travailleurs étrangers temporaires

À titre de travailleur étranger temporaire, il est possible que vous ne puissiez bénéficier de plusieurs des services offerts gratuitement par les organisations d’aide aux immigrants. En effet, le mandat et le financement de la plupart de ces organismes sont destinés à l’aide aux nouveaux arrivants qui ont leur statut de résident permanent au Canada. Il est donc important de savoir que vous pourriez devoir payer des frais pour certains services offerts par ces organismes.

Peut-être voudrez-vous communiquer avec l’ambassade ou le consulat de votre pays d'origine afin d'obtenir de l’information ou de l’aide pendant votre séjour au Canada. Pour connaître le numéro de téléphone de l’ambassade ou du consulat de votre pays d’origine dans votre région, veuillez consulter le répertoire en ligne d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada. 

De plus, vous désirerez peut-être visiter la bibliothèque publique de votre quartier. Vous pourrez y obtenir gratuitement une carte de bibliothèque et vous renseigner sur les différents programmes et services offerts. Vous pouvez également devenir membre de la communauté virtuelle du CCRHT (adhésion gratuite) pour obtenir une liste des organismes offrant des services linguistiques et de soutien à l'intention des travailleurs étrangers temporaires. À noter qu’il ne s’agit pas d’une liste exhaustive. 

Enfin, vous voudrez peut-être vous renseigner au sujet des fournisseurs de service de transfert de fonds afin de trouver une façon économique de faire parvenir de l’argent à des personnes dans votre pays d’origine. Le site Web SendMoneyHome.org (en anglais seulement) constitue un bon point de départ pour vos recherches.

Organisations ethnoculturelles

Si vous êtes un travailleur étranger temporaire ou un immigrant admis au Canada, il est possible que vous ayez envie de rencontrer d'autres nouveaux arrivants et immigrants provenant de votre pays d’origine. Le site Web du Conseil ethnoculturel du Canada (CEC) présente les coordonnées des organismes ombrelles représentant les organisations et groupes ethnoculturels de partout au Canada.

Radio Canada International (RCI)

Les nouveaux arrivants, de même que les personnes qui songent à immigrer au Canada, se posent souvent des questions au sujet de la vie au Canada. RCI Viva est un service Web traitant de ces questions. Il comprend un service de radio multilingue sur le Web qui offre de l’information pour aider les immigrants à découvrir leur nouveau pays, des outils leur permettant d’améliorer leurs compétences linguistiques et des babillards. Pour recourir à ce service Web, visitez Radio Canada International.

National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada

Rester en contact avec votre pays d’origine en vous tenant au courant de l'actualité et en rencontrant d’autres personnes qui en proviennent peut faciliter grandement votre établissement au Canada. Le site Web du National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada (en anglais seulement) dresse la liste des nombreux journaux communautaires ou multiculturels disponibles au pays.