Education and Training

As with many careers today, competition is fierce, and education and training can help you get ahead. Continuous or life-long learning is key in most occupations and industries. Training for careers in tourism is available in formal programs at secondary schools, public colleges, private training schools and universities. These offer both knowledge and practical training for those seeking tourism careers. Some of these programs include co-operative work experience, which offers the chance to gain and test practical skills on the job. Work experience can also help you to develop a network of contacts and extend the qualifications on your résumé.

Public and private colleges and universities offer a wide selection of tourism education and training programs. Some of these programs are available through distance education in rural communities. Some are part-time classes for those who are already working. Frequently, distance-delivery courses are available in print or electronic format, so that course materials can be used or accessed in the convenience of your own home, at a time that suits you.

Any position in any sector requires some on-the-job training. Once you are hired, you will likely receive an orientation session and some on-going training from your employer. Training may be formalized (i.e. the employer arranges for or teaches an established program in a classroom setting) or may be more informal, meaning you learn as you go by asking questions of a peer support person, or job shadow (i.e. follow and observe another employee while she works).

In any case, you can seek out training programs that will help you gain greater understanding in and enjoyment from your work. Your employer may offer courses, workshops, time and/or financial support so that you can develop professionally.

Professional associations may offer workshops, seminars or apprenticeship programs. Your regional tourism education council/association may offer seminars or may have information on upcoming training events. They also offer emerit Tourism Training products and programs, which include emerit national occupational standards, emerit professional certification and recognition programs and on-line training for more than 50 occupations in the tourism sector. Please visit the emerit web site or call 1-800-486-9158 to find out more about training options for you.

Éducation et formation

Aujourd’hui, le marché du travail est très compétitif. De plus, la formation continue est essentielle dans la plupart des carrières et des secteurs d'activité. La formation en tourisme est offerte dans le cadre de programmes officiels dans les écoles secondaires ou professionnelles, les collèges et les universités. Ces établissements d’enseignement offrent les cours théoriques et la formation pratique à ceux qui veulent faire carrière en tourisme. Par exemple, certains programmes d’alternance travail-études permettent d’acquérir des compétences et de les mettre en pratique en milieu de travail. L’expérience de travail offre aussi la possibilité de vous créer un réseau de personnes-ressources tout en enrichissant votre curriculum vitæ.

Les collèges publics et privés, ainsi que les universités, offrent une vaste sélection de programmes d’études et de formation en tourisme. Certains de ces programmes sont même offerts dans les communautés rurales, dans le cadre de la formation à distance; d’autres programmes sont offerts sous forme de cours à temps partiel pour ceux qui sont déjà sur le marché du travail.

Tout emploi, quel que soit le secteur d'activité, nécessite un minimum de formation en milieu de travail. Une fois votre embauche confirmée, votre employeur veille à ce que vous assistiez à une séance d’orientation et que vous receviez une formation sur place. La formation peut être officielle (ex. : l’employeur enseigne ou fait enseigner un programme déterminé dans une salle de classe) ou informelle, ce qui signifie que vous réalisez vos apprentissages en posant des questions à un pair jumelé avec vous (ex. : un employé observe le nouvel employé pendant son travail).

Quoi qu’il en soit, recherchez des programmes qui sauront vous aider à acquérir une meilleure compréhension de votre travail et qui vous apporteront davantage de satisfaction. Votre employeur offre peut-être des cours, des ateliers, du temps ou un appui financier pouvant contribuer à votre perfectionnement professionnel.

Les associations professionnelles offrent souvent des ateliers, des séminaires ou des programmes d’apprentissage. L’association de formation en tourisme de votre région offre peut-être des séminaires; sinon, elle peut probablement vous renseigner sur les salons carrières et autres activités du genre. Elle offre également les produits et programmes de formation en tourisme emerit, qui se basent sur les normes de compétence nationales du même nom, des programmes de reconnaissance professionnelle emerit et des formations en ligne pour plus de 50 emplois dans le secteur du tourisme. Pour en savoir davantage sur les possibilités de formation qui s’offrent à vous, visitez le site Web d’emerit ou composez le 1-800-486-9158.