Professional Tourism and Hospitality Training

Professional tourism training can occur through your employer or company or you may choose to pursue training on your own. Many employers provide on-going training in the workplace. Some companies offer both mandatory and optional professional development courses and programs.

Training may also be offered through the community or industry. Community programs include courses and workshops, several of which are mandatory for certain occupations. Community colleges, associations or organizations offer the Foodsafe and Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) programs and some workplace safety, first aid, and responsible alcohol service programs.

Training can be short- or long-term:

  • a few hours of professional development training, e.g., demonstration of how to cook a new menu item or a service excellence workshop
  • a few weeks of formal training, e.g., bartending school
  • a few months of intense training, e.g., flight attendant training school
  • several years of education, e.g., Bachelor's Degree in Tourism Management, Master's Degree in Tourism Marketing

Industry programs include those offered by professional associations and government or tourism departments, and can be anything from an annual tourism conference to speakers, presentations or workshops. National, provincial and territorial tourism education councils/associations also offer seminars, service excellence workshops, and emerit national occupational standards, emerit certification and recognition opportunities, and online training.

Professional Tourism Industry Training

If you know what kind of tourism work you want to do, check out the emerit website for information on steps to improve your qualifications for your job. emerit offers training products and programs for the tourism sector based on industry-defined standards. These training products and programs are recognized across Canada. The range of emerit training products is very diverse, covering many professional jobs in the tourism sector. emerit certification is developed by industry professionals in Canada and is recognized across the country.

As an employee or a tourism sector student, you will gain valuable skills and new opportunities. Candidates who seek the emerit credential must have the required experience, pass a multiple-choice exam and demonstrate mastery of their occupation through an on-the-job performance evaluation.

emerit training resources are available online. The emerit website describes its training products, including National Occupational Standards, Training Tools, and Certification.

Red Seal

If you work in a regulated trade, you may require “Red Seal” trade certification to work in your field. (In the tourism sector, this is mainly chefs, cooks and bakers.) To learn more about the Canadian national trade certification program, you can visit the Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program website.

Online Training

The emerit Web site offers a “one-stop-shop” for information on training and professional recognition, in both French and English. It’s a learning resource for sector professionals, with online training in flexible, interactive, modularized formats for selected occupations, and online exams for over 25 occupations, from Front Desk Agent to Casino Dealer to Food and Beverage Manager.

Professional Credentials

Through emerit, as a frontline employee, you're eligible for the Tourism Certified Professional (TCP) designation. As a Supervisor you can achieve the Tourism Certified Supervisor (TCS) designation and as a Manager, you are eligible for the Tourism Certified Manager (TCM) designation. Since every emerit certified tourism professional earns the right to display their credentials on their business cards and résumés, Professional Certification truly sets you apart.

A professional association, such as the Canadian Federation of Chefs and Cooks, may offer credentials (such as Red Seal for Chefs). Some credentials (such as Canadian Commercial Pilot Licence) are offered or required by licensing or regulatory agencies. For more information, contact the association or organization in which you are interested and ask them for details.


Many provinces/territories have tourism-related apprenticeships available. Apprenticeship involves a combination of on-the-job training and practice, along with qualified technical instruction from an educational institution.

Apprenticeships vary from two to five years. On completion, a person receives a Certificate of Qualification and the right to be called a journeyperson. As with national certification, completing an apprenticeship improves skills, fosters commitment and pride in work and the sector, and may boost eligibility for pay increases or promotion. Contact your regional Apprenticeship branch for more information.

Secondary Schools/High Schools

Tourism-related courses and programs may be available within the secondary school curriculum or at technical or vocational high schools. These often include cooking programs, tourism programs (like the three-year Canadian Academy of Travel and Tourism program), and business or co-operative education programs. Programs with a work experience component are helpful, as they develop useful work-related skills, develop résumé material, and apply work hours to future certification or apprenticeship. The availability of these programs will vary widely from region to region. Some programs are available to adults as well as to secondary school students. Contact your provincial/territorial education department for more information.

Short Term and Private Post-Secondary Schools

Many training schools offer education and training programs in tourism. Some schools offer short (a few days to a few weeks) employment preparation programs; others offer programs two years or more in length.

emerit National Occupational Standards are detailed descriptions of the knowledge, skills and attitude required of a tourism professional to be considered competent in the occupation. Standards are developed by tourism sector professionals who work in the occupation. Currently there are more than 50 occupational standards available through emerit tourism training. Standards are mainly used as an on-the-job reference for those employed in an industry. However, they are also an excellent resource for those who are seriously considering a career in one of the occupations for which standards exist. They can be used to help individuals determine their own level of competency before applying for a position, and they can help to identify career paths within the sector.

emerit National Professional Certification is a process that evaluates an individual's knowledge, attitude and skills as measured against the national standards. Certification is open to those who work in the sector, and can be challenged while working on the job. There are currently more than 26 tourism occupations available for emerit National Professional Certification.

Employees who successfully complete the certification process achieve professional recognition, generally enjoy increased pride and job satisfaction, and have the satisfaction of knowing that they have improved their abilities and are recognized by the sector. Since they have shown improved skills and abilities, they may also receive an increase in salary or be considered for promotion. Professional Certification is the pinnacle credential available to industry professionals, but it is not the only one. emerit tourism training is structured in a manner that recognizes and rewards people at various stages in their professional development.

If you would like to gain more knowledge about the tourism sector before you enter the workforce, please check out the Tourism Essentials training and certificate. It gives you the knowledge and attitudes required in any tourism-related occupation and is full of practical information that will help any entry-level employee to offer quality service.

If you are interested in becoming a Supervisor in any area of tourism, you may want to consider being trained as a Tourism Supervisor. Learn more about the emerit Tourism Supervisor training program and professional certification.

Formation dans l’industrie de l’accueil et du tourisme

Formation et reconnaissance professionnelle de l'industrie

Si vous savez quel type de travail en tourisme vous intéresse, visitez le site Web emerit pour vous renseigner sur la marche à suivre afin d’améliorer votre qualification professionnelle pour ce travail. Les ressources emerit offrent des outils et programmes de formation s’inspirant des normes professionnelles du secteur du tourisme. Ces outils et programmes de formation sont reconnus partout au Canada. Très diversifiée, la gamme des produits de formation emerit porte sur de nombreuses professions du secteur du tourisme. Élaboré par des professionnels du secteur du tourisme, le programme de reconnaissance professionnelle emerit est reconnu partout au Canada.

Si vous travaillez ou étudiez dans le secteur du tourisme, ce programme vous permettra d’acquérir des compétences utiles et vous ouvrira de nouvelles perspectives. Afin d’obtenir la reconnaissance professionnelle emerit, les candidats doivent posséder l’expérience de travail nécessaire et passer un examen à choix multiples. De plus, ils doivent également démontrer leur maîtrise de la fonction de travail au moyen d'une évaluation de rendement au travail. Les ressources de formation emerit sont offertes en ligne. Le site Web emerit présente une description de ces ressources de formation, notamment les normes de compétence nationales, les outils de formation et la reconnaissance professionnelle.

Programme Sceau rouge

Si vous travaillez dans une profession réglementée, il vous faudra peut-être obtenir la reconnaissance professionnelle Sceau rouge afin de pouvoir exercer votre métier (dans le secteur du tourisme, il s’agit essentiellement des fonctions de travail de chef, de cuisinier et de boulanger-pâtissier). Pour en savoir plus au sujet du programme national de reconnaissance professionnelle Sceau rouge, visitez le site Web du Programme des normes interprovinciales Sceau rouge.

Formation en ligne

Le site Web d’emerit permet d'obtenir en un seul endroit tous les renseignements utiles sur la formation et la reconnaissance professionnelle, et ce, tant en français qu'en anglais. Le site se veut en fait un lieu d'apprentissage pour les professionnels du tourisme. Il comprend des formations en ligne souples, interactives et modulaires pour de nombreuses fonctions de travail ainsi que des examens en ligne pour plus de 25 métiers du secteur touristique, notamment préposé à la réception, croupier et directeur de la restauration.

Titres de compétence professionnels

Grâce à emerit, vous pouvez obtenir, à titre d’employé de première ligne, le titre de Professionnel en tourisme reconnu (PTR). Comme superviseur, vous pouvez vous mériter le titre de Superviseur en tourisme reconnu (STC) et, si vous êtes un gestionnaire, celui de Gestionnaire en tourisme reconnu (GTR). Considérant que tous les professionnels en tourisme ayant obtenu la reconnaissance professionnelle emerit se voient accorder le privilège d’afficher leur nouveau titre sur leurs cartes professionnelles et curriculum vitæ, la reconnaissance professionnelle vous situe sans nul doute dans une classe à part.

Une association professionnelle, telle la Fédération Canadienne des Chefs et Cuisiniers, par exemple, peut offrir des titres de compétence (comme le Sceau rouge pour les chefs). Certains titres de compétence (notamment la licence canadienne de pilote professionnel) sont offerts ou requis par les organismes de délivrance de permis et de réglementation. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec l’association ou l’organisme pertinent et renseignez-vous sur leurs exigences.

Apprentissage

Beaucoup de provinces et de territoires offrent de la formation en apprentissage reliée au tourisme. L’apprentissage suppose une combinaison de formation et de pratique en milieu de travail parallèlement à l’acquisition d’une formation technique donnée par un établissement d’enseignement. La durée de l’apprentissage varie de deux à cinq ans. Au terme de son apprentissage, la personne reçoit un certificat de qualification et le droit au titre de personne de métier. À l’instar de la reconnaissance professionnelle, l’apprentissage permet de perfectionner ses compétences, de renforcer son engagement et sa fierté à l’égard de son travail et du secteur, et accroît les possibilités d’augmentation salariale et de promotion. Communiquez avec la Direction de l’apprentissage de votre région pour obtenir plus de détails.

Écoles secondaires

Des cours et des programmes reliés au tourisme peuvent être offerts dans le cadre du programme d’études secondaires ou dans certaines écoles techniques ou professionnelles. Ils peuvent prendre la forme de cours de cuisine, de programmes en tourisme (comme le programme de trois ans de l’Académie canadienne du voyage et du tourisme), de programmes d’études commerciales ou de programmes d’alternance travail-études. Les programmes axés sur l’expérience de travail sont utiles, car ils permettent de perfectionner des habiletés reliées au travail, d’enrichir son curriculum vitæ et d’appliquer les heures travaillées à un éventuel programme de reconnaissance professionnelle ou d’apprentissage. La disponibilité de ces programmes varie d’une région à l’autre. Certains sont offerts tant aux adultes qu’aux élèves du secondaire. Communiquez avec le ministère de l’Éducation de votre province ou territoire pour de plus amples renseignements.

Établissements privés d’enseignement postsecondaire

Beaucoup d’établissements offrent des programmes de formation scolaire et professionnelle en tourisme. Quelques écoles offrent des programmes préparatoires à l’emploi, qui sont de courte durée (de quelques jours à quelques semaines); d’autres offrent des programmes de deux ans ou plus.

La formation officielle peut être à court ou à long terme :

  • formation de quelques heures en perfectionnement professionnel (ex. : démonstration sur la façon de faire cuire un nouveau plat au menu ou atelier sur le service excellence);
  • formation officielle de quelques semaines (ex. : école de barman);
  • formation intensive de quelques mois (ex. : DEP en service de restauration);
  • formation scolaire de plusieurs années (ex. : technique de gestion hôtelière ou baccalauréat en gestion du tourisme et en hôtellerie).

Il est également possible de suivre une formation par l’entremise de votre employeur ou de votre entreprise. En effet, beaucoup d’employeurs assurent une formation continue en milieu de travail. (Par exemple, la reconnaissance professionnelle peut être offerte aux employés et le processus se déroule au travail.) Certaines entreprises offrent des cours ainsi que des programmes obligatoires et facultatifs de perfectionnement professionnel.

La formation peut aussi être donnée par la communauté ou par le secteur d’activité. Les programmes communautaires englobent des cours et des ateliers qui sont obligatoires pour certaines fonctions. Par exemple, les programmes reliés au Système d’information sur les matières dangereuses utilisées au travail (SIMDUT), de même que certains programmes sur la sécurité au travail, les premiers soins et le service responsable de boissons sont offerts dans les collèges communautaires, les écoles professionnelles, les associations et organismes, et sont souvent obligatoires pour certains postes ou dans certaines régions.

Les programmes du secteur comprennent ceux qui sont offerts par les associations professionnelles et les différents ministères, et peuvent se donner sous forme de conférence annuelle sur le tourisme, de présentations ou d’ateliers. Les conseils ou associations de formation en tourisme à l’échelon national, provincial ou territorial offrent également des séminaires, des ateliers sur le service excellence, de même qu’un accès aux normes de compétence nationales emerit, à la reconnaissance professionnelle emerit et à la formation en ligne.

Normes de compétence nationales, formation et reconnaissance professionnelle emerit

Les normes de compétence emerit sont des énoncés détaillés qui décrivent les connaissances, les habiletés et les attitudes nécessaires à la compétence professionnelle d’une personne. Elles sont élaborées par des professionnels du secteur touristique qui excellent dans leur profession. À l’heure actuelle, plus de 50 normes professionnelles sont disponibles par l’intermédiaire de la formation en tourisme emerit. Les normes de compétence servent principalement d’outils de référence à ceux qui travaillent dans le secteur du tourisme. Cependant, elles constituent également d’excellentes ressources pour les personnes qui songent sérieusement à faire carrière dans l’une des fonctions régies par des normes. Elles peuvent aussi aider les gens à déterminer s’ils possèdent les compétences requises avant de postuler un emploi. Enfin, elles peuvent contribuer à recenser différents cheminements de carrière au sein du secteur.

La reconnaissance professionnelle emerit est un processus qui évalue les connaissances, les compétences et les attitudes d’une personne en fonction des normes de compétence nationales.

La reconnaissance professionnelle est accessible à tous ceux qui travaillent dans le secteur et qui aiment les défis. Actuellement, la reconnaissance professionnelle emerit est offerte pour plus de 26 fonctions en tourisme.

Les employés qui franchissent avec succès toutes les étapes du processus reçoivent une attestation de compétence. Mais ce n’est pas tout. Ces employés éprouvent généralement plus de fierté et de satisfaction au travail, car ils sont conscients de leur expertise et ils se sentent valorisés. Et en démontrant le perfectionnement de leurs habiletés et de leurs compétences, ils deviennent éventuellement admissibles à une augmentation de salaire ou à des promotions. La reconnaissance professionnelle emerit constitue le plus haut niveau de reconnaissance accessible dans le secteur du tourisme au Canada, toutefois ce n’est pas le seul. Les ressources emerit sont structurées de façon à reconnaître et à récompenser les employés à divers stades de leur perfectionnement professionnel.

Si vous voulez acquérir davantage de connaissances au sujet du secteur du tourisme avant d’y travailler, consultez le programme de formation Compétences essentielles en tourisme. Vous apprendrez à maîtriser les notions et à adopter les attitudes nécessaires à l’exercice de toute fonction en tourisme, étant donné que ce programme regorge d’information pratique qui aidera tout employé débutant à offrir un service de qualité.

Si vous désirez occuper un poste de supervision dans un des sous-secteurs du tourisme, vous devriez peut-être songer à suivre une formation de superviseur en tourisme. Cliquez sur le lien suivant pour en savoir davantage sur le programme de formation et de reconnaissance professionnelle emerit intitulé Habiletés de supervision.