Borderless Curiosity

At 22 years of age, her drive and enthusiasm had already propelled Allison through a variety of educational experiences and tourism-related jobs. However, a life changing opportunity came with the discovery of OTEC, the Ontario Tourism Education Corporation (OTEC) and the Tourism Career for Youth (TYC) program, offered through Georgian College in her hometown of Barrie, Ontario.

The TYC program, now commonly known as the Ready to Work (RTW) program, is a national youth internship program, which helps to prepare people for jobs in the tourism industry. The program follows emerit training, as put forward by Tourism HR Canada and its provincial and territorial partners. It features a mix of classroom and on-the-job training, which provides people with the skills, knowledge, attitudes and experience necessary for long-term stable employment in tourism – one of Canada’s fastest growing industries.

“The TCY program has confirmed all of my thoughts and ideas, that a career in tourism holds endless possibilities. It has given me the confidence to pursue my goals and drives home a message, that any level of success is possible in tourism.”

For now, Allison’s journey is taking shape with the tourism skills she’s building here in Canada – skills acquired working in food services with a Barrie catering company, along with team skills acquired working on both the maintenance crew and on the dining staff at an international children’s camp in Haliburton.  However, a Travel and Tourism College Diploma from the Toronto School of Business will mean she can work in a travel agency almost anywhere in the world – a long way from Barrie’s small dot on the global map.

Eventually Allison hopes to settle down, working behind the scenes with a team in a leading edge eco/adventure tour company. When asked where that may be, she replies “They say home is where the heart is.” The way she says it, there’s no doubt this new face in the tourism industry has the heart to discover exactly where in the world that place might be.

Allison Pitcher, Student, Ready To Work, Georgian College, Barrie, Ontario

Curiosité sans frontière

Son énergie et son enthousiasme ont poussé Allison, 22 ans, à suivre une multitude de cours et à occuper divers emplois reliés au tourisme. Son parcours s’est cependant précisé quand elle a découvert l’Ontario Tourism Education Corporation (OTEC) et le programme Carrières en tourisme Jeunesse, offert par le Georgian College, dans sa ville natale de Barrie, en Ontario.

Le programme Carrières en tourisme Jeunesse, maintenant connu sous le nom d'Emplois clés en main, est un programme de stages qui aide les jeunes à se préparer au marché du travail dans le secteur du tourisme. Le programme s’appuie sur les normes de compétence emerit, élaborées par RH Tourisme Canada et ses partenaires provinciaux et territoriaux. La formation a lieu en classe et en milieu de travail, permettant aux candidats d’acquérir les habiletés, les connaissances et l’expérience nécessaires pour obtenir un emploi stable dans le secteur du tourisme, lequel fait partie des industries les plus florissantes au Canada.

« Le programme Carrières en tourisme Jeunesse m’a confirmé qu’une carrière en tourisme offre des possibilités infinies. J’y ai acquis la confiance nécessaire pour poursuivre mes objectifs, de même que la conviction qu’il est possible d’atteindre les plus hauts sommets dans le secteur du tourisme. »

Actuellement, Allison continue d’acquérir des compétences qui l’aideront à atteindre ses objectifs. En plus de travailler pour un traiteur de Barrie, elle développe ses aptitudes au travail d’équipe au sein du service de l’entretien et du service de la restauration d’un camp international pour enfants, installé à Haliburton. Par ailleurs, le cours en tourisme et voyage qu’elle suit à la Toronto School of Business lui permettra de travailler dans pratiquement n’importe quelle agence de voyages sur la planète.

La petite fille de Barrie sera désormais citoyenne du monde. Allison aimerait un jour travailler pour un grand voyagiste spécialisé en écotourisme ou en tourisme d’aventure. À l’entendre parler, on se doute bien qu’elle pourrait sans peine exercer sa profession bien loin de sa ville natale.

Allison Pitcher, étudiante, Emplois clés en main, Georgian College, Barrie, Ontario