Learning for Life

Ready to Work (RTW) is a national youth internship program that helps to prepare young people for jobs in tourism through the emerit training provided by Tourism HR Canada and its provincial and territorial partners. Mary now teaches students the skills they need for successful and rewarding tourism careers. Ready to Work features a mix of classroom and on-the-job training that provides the skills, knowledge and experience necessary for long-term, stable employment in tourism – one of Canada’s fastest growing industries.

“I love everything about this job!” Mary explains. “I have received all the support I could ever need. The program provides me with the training, materials and “freedom” I need – the ability to deliver the workshop in a manner tailored to my own style and personal schedule. And, since two other retirees trained with me at the same time, we keep in touch and share ideas about what works and what doesn't. It is a very supportive relationship.”

Mary’s role takes advantage of her special gift in working with teens. In less than a year, she has delivered the workshop to several Hospitality and Tourism classes at high schools throughout PEI. In addition, she has also facilitated the workshop to both existing tourism professionals and adult learners who are taking part in work entry programs.

Retired in 1999? Not Mary! Her lifelong career has been transformed it into a fun-filled, flexible and meaningful retirement occupation.

Mary Peardon, Facilitator – SuperHost Program - Tourism Industry Association of Prince Edward Island (TIAPEI)

Apprendre pour la vie

Emplois clés en main, est un programme de stages qui aide les jeunes à se préparer au marché du travail dans le secteur du tourisme. Le programme s’appuie sur les normes de compétence emerit, élaborées par le RH Tourism Canada et ses partenaires provinciaux et territoriaux. Mary transmet aux élèves les notions dont ils ont besoin pour réussir leur carrière en tourisme. La formation a lieu en classe et en milieu de travail, permettant aux candidats d’acquérir les habiletés, les connaissances et l’expérience nécessaires pour obtenir un emploi stable dans le secteur du tourisme, lequel fait partie des industries les plus florissantes au Canada.

« J’aime tout dans cet emploi, explique Mary. On me fournit tout le soutien nécessaire, dont la formation et le matériel. De plus, on m’offre la liberté de donner mon atelier à ma façon et selon l’horaire qui me convient. Et puisque deux autres retraités ont reçu leur formation en même temps que moi, nous pouvons discuter tous les trois de ce qui fonctionne ou pas. Ça m’aide beaucoup dans mon travail. »

Mary est très à l’aise avec les adolescents. En moins d’un an, elle a donné son atelier de tourisme dans plusieurs écoles secondaires de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Elle a aussi formé des professionnels du tourisme ainsi que des apprenants adultes participant à des programmes d’insertion sur le marché du travail.

En 1999, Marie a pris sa retraite officielle, mais elle continue de mettre son expérience à profit dans un emploi agréable et utile qui lui laisse du temps libre pour jouir de la vie.

Mary Peardon, monitrice de formation – programme SuperHost, Tourism Industry Association of Prince Edward Island (TIAPEI)