The Rest is History

With a keen interest in the history of the local area, Denis set out to become certified as a tour guide. Today, Denis enjoys his work and long surpassed his original goal. In addition to becoming a tour guide, he has also been able to apply his skills as a teacher in the roles of Tour Guide Trainer and Tour Guide Evaluator for the Saskatchewan Tourism Education Council (STEC).

STEC works with tourism operators, managers, employees, and educators/consultants across the province of Saskatchewan to develop a professional tourism workforce in Saskatchewan. STEC delivers Tourism HR Canada sponsored programs and products in Saskatchewan, including emerit.

Those who have taken one of his tours or courses will attest to Denis’ passion for history, exceptional depth of knowledge and dedication to professionalism. When asked what he enjoys most about his work his answer is simple: “I really enjoy the interaction with the individuals taking the Local Tour Guide Training Program. They are all there because they want to be,” he explains. “As far as giving tours, I love the interaction with the various groups whether they are children, young adults, adults or seniors. I often learn as much from them as they do from me!”

Because tourism is intensely service-oriented, success means knowing how to meet and exceed customer expectations. “I am working with people who feel as strongly as I do about the need for well-trained individuals in tourism – particularly if we are to compete with other cities, provinces or countries in attracting visitors.”

Denis’ life long passion for teaching has translated into a fun-filled and meaningful post-retirement work opportunity. The rest, as they say, is history!

Denis Poirier, Certified Tour Guide, Duck Lake, Sasktchewan

Histoire de profiter de la vie

S’intéressant vivement à l’histoire de la localité, Denis entreprit d’obtenir la reconnaissance professionnelle en tant que guide touristique. Heureux de l’emploi qu’il occupe aujourd’hui, Denis a aussi largement dépassé ses objectifs de départ. En plus de devenir guide touristique, il a pu mettre en pratique ses compétences d’enseignant, à titre de formateur et d’évaluateur des guides touristiques pour le compte du Saskatchewan Tourism Education Council (STEC).

Le STEC met en contact les entreprises, les directeurs, les employés, les enseignants et les consultants du milieu touristique de la Saskatchewan, afin de promouvoir le professionnalisme au sein de la main-d’œuvre touristique de la province. Le STEC offre des programmes et des produits commandités par RH Tourisme Canada (CCRHT), dont les produits emerit.

Ceux qui ont connu Denis comme formateur ou comme guide peuvent témoigner de son amour de l’histoire, de sa connaissance approfondie de son sujet et de son grand professionnalisme. Quand on lui demande ce qui lui plaît le plus dans son travail, il répond simplement : « J’adore l’interaction avec les guides touristiques que je forme. Ils sont tous là parce qu’ils le veulent, explique-t-il. En ce qui concerne mon travail de guide, j’adore l’interaction avec les différents groupes que je rencontre, qu’il s’agisse d’enfants, de jeunes adultes, d’adultes ou d’aînés. Souvent, j’apprends autant d’eux qu’ils apprennent de moi! »

Comme le tourisme est très axé sur le service, il faut, pour réussir, savoir combler et dépasser les attentes des clients. « Les gens avec qui je travaille pensent comme moi qu’il est très important que l’industrie du tourisme puisse compter sur des employés bien formés, surtout si nous sommes en concurrence avec d’autres villes, d’autres provinces ou d’autres pays. »

Après une longue carrière consacrée à l’enseignement, Denis a trouvé un emploi de retraite intéressant et amusant… histoire de profiter de la vie!

Denis Poirier, guide touristique professionnellement reconnu, Duck Lake, Saskatchewan